Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) which is now referred to as Australia Awards Scholarships brings wonderful opportunity for people who are from developing Countries, especially people from the countries in the Indo-Pacific region, this scholarship helps them to go for a full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at Australian universities and Technical and further Education (TAFE) institutions taking part in this great scholarship.

In this blog, we will show you all you need to know about this scholarship especially how to apply so make sure you read till the end.

Australia Awards Scholarships breakdown:

  • Institution: Australian Government
  • Program: Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees
  • Deadline: 1 May 2023 (annual)
  • Study in: Australia
  • Course starts 2024

Host Institution(s) of the Australia Awards Scholarships:

This scholarship is hosted by the Australian Institutions taking part in it.

Level/Field(s) of study:

This scholarship is solely for Undergraduate or postgraduate programmes which are in connection to your own Countries objective area for development listed out on all the participating country profiles.
The Australia Awards are not fissible for areas connected with nuclear technology, flying aircraft and military training.

Number of Scholarships:

The number of scholarship given by the Australia Awards Scholarships is not specified.

Target group for the Australia Awards Scholarships:

This scholarship targets mainly the indigenes of the involved countries in Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

This scholarship comes with sweet benefits which are:

  • Full tuition fees
  • Return air travel
  • Establishment allowance
  • Contribution to living expenses (CLE)
  • Overseas student health cover (OSHC)
  • Introductory Academic program (IAP)
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees

You can also find more benefits associated with this scholarship at the official website below.

This scholarship is available throughout the whole academic program made clear by the Australian higher education institution even the preparatory training.


For you to be qualified for the Australia Awards Scholarships, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years by 1st February of the scholarship commencement
  • Be indigene of one of the country involved in the scholarship as seen in the Australia Awards website.
  • Be living and applying from your home country.
  • Not be an indigene of Australia
  • Have a permanent house in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently.
  • You must not be married or engaged to marry to anyone
  • You must have an Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at the point of application, selection or mobilization period.

Note: people living in Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau and New Zealand and are indigenes are qualified to apply for the scholarship but they must:

  • Apply for a student visa (subclass 500).
  • Not be a military personnel presently in service.
  • Not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that they were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have resided outside Australia for eight years).
  • Not have record of any criminal activities (including in their home country) including those relating to Child Protection and PSEAH.
  • Be recipients under the Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) who have completed their secondary school education in Australia in the year prior are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award;
  • Have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate
  • Be able to meet the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken (this may mean that Program Areas will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution’s admission requirements. This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at selected institutions);
  • Be able to meet up with all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. This may mean that the Program Area will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the visa requirements.
  • Not be applying for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than already achieved (e.g. be applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already hold a PhD)
  • All applicant must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.
  • Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application instructions:

  • Ensure you check out the open and close dates of your country.
  • Choose you home country from the list of Countries involved in the scholarship for you to be able to get more specific information on the eligibility, priority areas and how you can apply for the scholarship.
  • Application is done online or by mail just incase you are unable to apply online.
  • The application deadline is 1 May 2023 11:59pm AEST.
  • Also make sure you read the page on how to apply and visit the country specific pages, and the official website via the link below for more information.


Official Scholarship Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *